Placer County and Nevada County
Theft Crime Lawyer
Proven Counsel from Our Criminal Defense Attorneys
Taking something that isn’t yours is theft, which is a serious crime in the state of California. Committing any form of a theft crime, such as robbery or burglary, can result in serious consequences, including time in jail or prison, fines, and restitution.
Having a strong defense is vital to protecting yourself from a burglary, robbery, or theft conviction. Your intent is a significant part of the prosecution’s case in many theft trials. A skilled Placer County criminal defense lawyer or Nevada County criminal defense attorney at Leupp & Woodall can help clarify the circumstances of the incident and aggressively seek the best possible outcome on your behalf.
Don’t let prosecutors steal your freedom and your future. For a powerful burglary or theft defense, contact Leupp & Woodall at (530) 836-5062 today!
Understanding Theft Crimes
Generally speaking, theft crimes are classified based on the monetary value of the property allegedly stolen. Petty theft is a misdemeanor, and prosecutors can choose to charge grand theft as either a felony or a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor conviction can result in up to one year in jail, and a felony conviction for a more serious theft can involve up to three years in prison.
The involved monetary values for these two crimes include:
- Petty Theft involves taking property worth $950 or less
- Grand Theft involves taking property worth more than $950
Burglary vs. Robbery in California
In California, burglary is defined as entering a location, such as the following places with the intention to commit theft or a felony:
California recognizes two forms of burglary. A burglary involving a residence, which is often called home invasion, is penalized more harshly as a first-degree burglary. Burglaries committed with explosives are also considered first-degree burglaries. Other burglaries are second-degree charges.
Robbery is an entirely different offense and involves taking another’s property using fear or force. In California, robbery is always a felony. Depending on the circumstances, a robbery can be a first-degree or second-degree charge.
Do not assume the prosecutors already have an airtight case against you. Instead, choose a skilled Auburn criminal defense attorney to fight for your rights and help you achieve the best possible results.
Get more than thirty years of criminal defense experience on your side. Call our burglary defense lawyer today to request a free case evaluation.